Wee Adventures

Apex London city hotel

I started my morning at the Apex City, Seething Lane. It’s a beautiful hotel which has been recently immaculately upgraded with a new wing of rooms that I was lucky enough to stay in.

After looking around the room, I realised that I was greeted by a little Apex Duck when I looked in the bathroom. This cute little treasure is mine to keep and he’ll definitely be coming back to Edinburgh with me!


The bedroom had a giant king size bed which felt like a giant kiss of covers when I wrapped myself up for bed. There was also a large TV but, having my iPad with me, I resisted the ample choice of movies and shows and fell asleep at a reasonable time before work the next day.


I decided not to take the wake up call offered to me and rose at 7.15 (a bit of a lie in for me and one of the perks of a work trip). Breakfast was then served downstairs to ambient music near the lobby. I chose the salmon breakfast – smoked salmon, sourdough toast and poached eggs. I’ll admit I’m a creature of habit but there’s nothing like a delicious fat filled breakfast to fuel you for a working day ahead.


Unfortunately for me I’m only needed in London today so won’t be able to try the gym and leisure facilities that the hotel offers. I would completely recommend it though and for those working from the Gherkin or Heron Tower, the hotel is in the perfect location to walk to work! There are also several train stations near by (Monument, Bank, Tower Hill) but the real perk is the 2 minute walk time to Tower Gateway, allowing for an easy commute to London City.


I’ll be making the commute myself later but for now… it’s off to the office!

Leave a Reply

